Match Report

Match Report - 04 Oct 2014, Leeds Modernians Football Club 4ths lost to Churwell Lions Res

Having shipped 6 goals the previous week, we were a little apprehensive, playing a team (joint) top of our table. Having said that, we had a good squad and, given a tight start, anything could happen. We created that tight start, rode our luck at times and Damian pulled off 3 good clearances/saves/blocks in the first 15 mins. As such, we gradually got into the game and, through a midfield stalemate, we got the ball to the ever-dangerous Chris ‘Blimey’ O'Reilly, whose shot beat the keeper at his near post to make it 1-0. Churwell got more into the game, pushing us back, without making any real chances and were disappointed to go in 1-1, having conceded just before half-time.

Second half was the same, with lots of snapping, fair, tackles in the centre of midfield and I had encouraged the team to get the ball wide to get the ball into their box. Ironically, the opposition did just that, their attacker evading his marker and foreced the ball home. At 2-1, it was our turn to press them back and we made chances, notably Blimey’s and pressure from great corners from Alex. This pressure told, Blimey again, near post shot again, goal, 2-2, game on! The game got stretched as both teams went for the winner and, near fulltime, they broke down the left and their right midfield attacked the ball at pace and slotted home.

Churwell probably just deserved the points (he said between gritted teeth) but at 2-2 and not long to go, we were hopeful of a point. Still, a good, competitive performance against a good team. On to next week, shame about the five players missing!

Man of the Match – everyone, all members of the squad were Mods heroes and Mom was Damian Dawtry

Leeds Modernians Football Club 4ths 2 - 3 Churwell Lions Res ()

Name Goals Details
1 Damian Dawtry  
2 Pete Forster  
3 Phil Howden  
4 Shane Mackenzie  
5 Tony Mullin  
6 Chris O'Reilly   2
7 Craig Liversage  
8 Alex Hogg  
9 Andrew Morris  
10 Richard Bateman  
11 James Sach  
12 Michael Hadjipourou  
13 Gary Lovelace  
14 Neil Bennington  
15 Jamie Lovelace